Sam Burns, U.S. Open
Digest more
Top News
Overview
Highlights
When Sam Burns stood over his tee shot on the 15th hole in the final round of the U.S. Open, he was in a tie for the lead. When he walked off the green, he was two shots back and essentially out of contention. What transpired in between is a questionable ruling that very much led to the double bogey Burns carded on the hole.
Despite appealing to two USGA rules officials, Sam Burns was denied casual water relief on the 15th hole during the final round of the U.S. Open on Sunday and ended up double-bogeying.
Burns was twice denied relief from perceived temporary water on the 15th hole Sunday at Oakmont before double-bogeying the hole and losing the U.S. Open by five shots.
The 54-hole leader was in the hunt until two different officials denied him relief from a wet area in the fairway, leading to a double bogey.
Follow the third round of the 2025 U.S. Open on Golfweek with live updates, highlights, leaderboard and scores and more.